top of page

The Starting Point

The starting point for my life as an artist, came when I was very little.

I fell in love with the arts, specifically music, at the age of three when I was on a trip to New Orleans visiting my cousins. I was walking around Baton Rouge and a street corner band was playing in the distance. My family and I stopped to watch and before they knew it, I was in the middle of the crowd, proudly dancing to the music of Louisiana. I danced and laughed and all the musicians loved it. Then when the music stopped, I stopped at the exact same time.

My grandfather turned to my father and said "That girl has music in her veins." From that day on, I was singing every chance I got and it flourished into a passion for performing. Now it may not be exactly like it was back then. Back when it was easy to embrace everything that was new and intriguing and my passion was only growing.

Now, I've learned some things, have experienced good, bad and in between days but through it all, the arts have always been there for me.

So a little about me...the arts are a part of my life daily. I am a singer, amateur piano player, drawer, painter, dancer, movie watcher, and avid music listener (except for country). First and foremost, I sing all the time. Whether it's in the shower, kitchen, living room, with my roommate, in the practice room or even in my sleep, I am forever a singer. It is a habit I will never give up because it makes me who I am and I love it dearly.

I'm here to talk about how the arts make me feel. What the arts do to and for me. How they have shaped my life. How they will forever remain one of the most important things to me. Most importantly, how I will make sure I can do everything in my power to help sustain the notion that the arts are essential to society and the world.

So, if you're reading this and maybe feel this way, or at least are slightly intrigued by what I'm saying, I hope you'll stick with me.

-Dev


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page